Happy Birthday, My Pete – Part I (Just Desserts)

6 Jun

So, funny enough, two of my favorite people were born a day apart. Pete’s 30th birthday was last Monday. Lucky duck to have it on a holiday. That goes for me too though. It meant we automatically got to spend the day together and those are always my favorite kind of days. They’re especially great when they come three in a row.

I talk about Pete often on here but I’ll give you a little background on our story, for those who don’t know. In 2004, Lauren (my good friend from college) and Pete (who went to school with Liz right up until she went off to college with Lauren and I) were both looking for roommates. Liz thought they’d get along, they met, and decided to live together for the next two years. They were living together for a few months before we actually met though. Before then, I remember talking to Lauren about how I hadn’t dated anyone in a while and asking her if she thought her roommate might want to watch a movie with me and possibly make-out. She gave me a definite yes. I thought we were both kidding but apparently not.

The short answer to how we met is that I was waiting on his front steps when he came home one day. This makes more sense when you know the details above and is less romantic when you know that I was actually waiting for Lauren, who came home with him. But it’s still the truth! A few months later he asked me out to dinner. On our first date, I insisted  it made more sense for me to take a cab to his house and then go to the restaurant. I apparently told him that if he got to know me better he’d learn that I like logic. Poor guy. Luckily he took that as a challenge and stuck around to find out that I was merely telling the truth. Later on in the relationship, in protest of the logic and as proof that chivalry isn’t dead but is perhaps adapting to the times, he’d often be in a cab on his way to my place before I knew what was happening and could object. Good work, Pete.

So, I was feeling a little bad about his birthday celebrations because my creative attention lately has been focused on Beth and Steve’s shower, photography, and Tiffany’s present. Not so much creative time left for Pete’s birthday. But he assured me this was OK and he did not, in fact, need anything pretty or decorative to celebrate the day. Regardless, to make up for what I lacked in party decorations and prep, here’s part one of what I did do for our Sunday night celebrations:

1. Reserve outdoor patio at Pete’s favorite bar. Check.

2. Order lots of appetizers, including wings. Check.

3. Confirm with his mom that she would be bringing his favorite chocolate cake from Portillo’s. Check.

4. Make his favorite peanut butter cup brownies. Check. You should all make these. They’re really good and my go-to dessert. The recipe came from the back of a Duncan Hines brownie mix box a long time ago. Here’s what you do:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Place 25  foil cupcake liners on a cookie sheet. (I usually end up with about 18 even though the recipe calls for 30. I figured this was a good compromise.)
  • Mix 1 package of brownie mix (preferably an extra-fudge kind with the packet to mix in), 2 eggs, 1/3 cup a water, and 1/4 vegetable oil until well blended.
  • Place 2 T mix into each liner.
  • Bake for 10 minutes.
  • In the meantime, open up as many peanut butter cups as you need so they’re ready when the 10 minutes are up.
  • Push 1 peanut butter cup into the center of each brownie until even with the surface.
  • Bake another 5-7 minutes.
5. Decide to make these champagne cupcakes. Then remember that I don’t actually bake things from scratch and that it is a terrible idea to start now. Make cupcakes from a box instead and throw on some sprinkles for fun. Check.
Birthday celebration day 2 to follow. Believe it or not, it involves more food…
2 Responses to “Happy Birthday, My Pete – Part I (Just Desserts)”

  1. Keeping it Real In Chicago June 11, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Seriously…those peanut butter brownies are like crack! I remember the first time I had them when you had hosted NYE a few years back and I still think about them from time to time :)

  2. Pete June 13, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    It really was the perfect birthday. Thanks, sweetie. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

