Photography 101

30 Jul

I’ve wanted to take a photography class for as long as I can remember. I bought my first film SLR in college and upgraded to a digital SLR last spring. A lot of people seem to think (or maybe in my own head this is how I think it should be) that since I have a “big camera” I must be taking really good pictures with it. The problem is, when you’re only shooting in the automatic mode you’re really not taking advantage of what the camera is able to do. And you’re forced to take the results it gives you since you don’t know how to change the settings. So, I finally decided that I didn’t care how long or unpredictable my hours at work might be, I was going to take a class. I know a lot of people like to claim the self-taught photographer title but I was pretty good at school so a class, and some structure, and a real person to ask questions of seemed like the best way for me to go.

I signed up for a summer course at a nearby community college and was really excited about it. Until I actually went. Turns out, I am sometimes not the most patient person and maybe this is something where I need a little more individualized attention. I only made it to three (or was it only two…) of eight classes before giving up but I rather effectively used one of them to read my camera’s manual. I’ve been spending some time since then actually testing all of the functions out and I seem to be getting better control of the actual camera itself. Unfortunately, that doesn’t necessarily mean I know or understand what I want the camera to do (seriously, how are you supposed to know which f-stops go with which shutter speeds?!?) so it’s been a lot of trial and error and more error. I’m hoping I’m close to some kind of ah-ha moment so that things will start moving in a better direction after that.

In the meantime, this picture makes me happy. It’s not straight out of the camera, I applied a vintage effect to dull the colors. But I like it. 

Vintage Peony

2 Responses to “Photography 101”

  1. meanttobe July 30, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    That’s really a beautiful picture! nice job!

    • Jackie August 9, 2009 at 9:04 am #

      Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

