Oh, Chair Cushions

11 Oct

Sometimes I get ideas that don’t quite work out. For example, I found some cheap chair cushions at IKEA a little while ago but I didn’t like the velcro that actually attached them to the chair. I thought, how about I take that off and just sew on some ribbon to tie a bow. Seems easy enough, right? Only problem is, I don’t sew and anything that involves a needle and thread is not nearly as easy as it really should be.

With a bit of effort I managed to get two of the four sewn on. But it was so irritating to me that the other two stayed on my to do list for quite some time. Then, to add insult to injury, the two that were done got pulled off when someone actually tried to use the chairs. Sigh. Poor little ribbons with no cushions attached. Back onto the to do list they go.

Sad little ribbon

This story is actually a little embarrassing because you would not believe how long the chairs sat with chair cushions on them but not attached. Clearly we do not actually eat dinner at our kitchen table very often.

Finally, I was in Target last week and found very pretty ivory cushions to just replace the originals all together. The material is like a raw silk so has a very pretty sheen to it. They were only $9.99 a piece. And, most importantly, they actually attach with no more effort on my part than tying a bow.

Ivory Chair Cushions

Thank you, Target, for letting me cross off “fix/finish chair cushions” from my perpetual to do list.

4 Responses to “Oh, Chair Cushions”

  1. Chair cushions November 26, 2009 at 3:39 am #

    Wow .. I like this very much. It s so nice to look more than use to sit Right? Hmnnnnn

  2. Sandy U. Platner October 5, 2014 at 7:08 pm #

    Currently it appears like Movable Type is the top blogging
    platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is
    that what you’re using on your blog?

  3. Jonnie V. Mahon October 7, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  4. Jonnie J. Osequera October 8, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

    You’re so cool! I don’t believe I have read a single
    thing like this before. So wonderful to discover another person with
    some genuine thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is required
    on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

