Feeling a little self conscious

18 Nov

So, even though I’m been doing it for a few months now, I’m still pretty self conscious about this whole blogging thing. When I started I only told 3 people. Eventually I told another 3. I don’t know if this is odd or just how blogging works, but there’s otherwise something nice about the anonymity of it all.

 

The only thing I didn’t fully contemplate was the fact that one of the original 3 people I told happens to be a social media expert. Let’s call her Elaine. So, naturally, she posted a link on her blog and tweeted a link to mine (which happened to result in the most page views I’ve ever gotten in a single day). I was OK with this because the only people who I knew who read her blog fell into one of the two groups I mentioned above (the 6 people I had told or people I don’t know). And I just don’t get the whole Twitter thing.

 

Two things have happened recently to bump up the anxiety level. First, my sister-in-law made a comment about following Elaine’s tweets. Which means she may have seen one about my blog. Second, Elaine posted a link to her blog on facebook. Which means all of our mutual friends have access to that and then, therefore, her links. Oh geez.

 

I’m not remembering why but I recently told someone they needed to “own it.” I’m going to try taking my own advice and not feel so weird about this. In the meantime, if I know you and you are reading (Liz?) maybe you can let me know so I stop worrying about it. Haha. Thanks!

9 Responses to “Feeling a little self conscious”

  1. Elaine Ellis November 21, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    Oh noes! I didn’t mean to cause you anxiety. : ( But your blog is wonderful and you should own it!

    That said, I just posted my info to Facebook myself. I think it’s because a lot of our friends don’t always get blogging (the girls not included).

    Your blog is incredible, as are you!

    • Jackie November 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

      Haha. Thanks, Elaine. I know you didn’t.

      It’s also not at all reasonable to post things to the internet and expect others not to see them. =)

  2. tiff November 22, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    i like your blog! and since i still haven’t fully hooked into this rss thing (you pop up, but still blocked pictures at work), it gives me something to look forward to when i remember to come look at the pictures. also it pleases me that i have creative friends because i am not physically that creative. also i don’t feel as much of a bum when reading it because i can think to myself that i’m just catching up on your life instead of bumming on the internet =)

    • Jackie November 22, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

      I think it’s worth noting that you and Elaine were each in that original 3 group I mentioned. :)

  3. Kezza November 24, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    Hi! I guess I fall into the “don’t know each other” category. I’m a friend of Elaine’s who found your blog through hers. Being completely uncrafty and new to the whole decorating-and-making-a-home-look-good thing, I am totally inspired by all your neat, cool, and dare I say easy organizing and decorating projects! Please keep posting!

    -Kez
    http://kezmerized.blogspot.com

    • Jackie November 26, 2009 at 10:49 am #

      Hi Kez! Nice to meet you! I am definitely all about the easy projects! No need to overwhelm ourselves over here. =)

  4. kristyrobinson November 24, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m reading! I’m reading! =-) I can’t say that I check your blog every day, but I get on here once in a while and catch up on all the little amazing projects of yours that I have missed out on. I, like Elaine and Tiff, are probably living a bit vicariously through you. So keep them coming!!!

  5. Charise November 26, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Hi Jackie, I randomly found Elaine’s blog in the course of doing some research for a grad school marketing project (I KNOW, totally random! Go Google!) a while ago and that’s how I found you! A little stalkerish, I know, sorry, haha!
    I’ve been the same way about my blog – I didn’t tell too many people, but it started getting out around my friends and family. It’s kind of nice knowing what you write just isn’t going out to the vast Internet space unread, no?
    I like your blog – I heart home projects and craftiness!

    • Jackie November 27, 2009 at 11:41 am #

      Hi Charise! That’s hilarious. To make matters even funnier, you likely met Elaine when you came out for the ND vs Purdue game! As Elaine phrased it, I think I’m OK so long as people “get” blogs. I think we still have a lot of friends who don’t really understand the point of them. =)

Leave a Reply

