Opinions, Please

21 Nov

My habitual tardiness in the mornings makes it very difficult for me to get creative with my weekday wardrobe. I’m generally rushing around, planning an outfit in my head, and then just putting that on and running out the door. To make this all easier, I generally stick with combinations that I already know will work since there’s no time for trial and error. Yesterday, however, I came up with something new. And even though I wasn’t sure about it, I left the house in a plum colored dress with grey tights and flats. In theory, I think this combination works. In reality, I felt like a Smurf. Or maybe an elf. The grey tights just seemed like a lot. This got me thinking about how much I miss having girl roommates who can give you an opinion. There are many times, especially when it comes to the really trendy stuff, where I could use the confirmation that I’m wearing things correctly.

And so, this brings me to my question about ankle booties. I’ve long worn them under jeans because I had a really hard time finding tall boots. For several years now, I have also watched women who pull these off with skirts. That seemed out of the question for me. For some reason, though, I’m deciding I might want to do it. It seems like they’d be a nice option with black tights and a skirt. Easier to walk in than black tights and pumps since your foot would be held in. So, what do you think? Can I do it? Here are the ones I had in mind from White House Black Market. Love the girly bow.

4 Responses to “Opinions, Please”

  1. tiff November 22, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    haha, i love this post and the next one. i think you should go for it. but pay attention to wear they hit on your foot, because ankle chafing seems like it wouldn’t be fun =)

    • Jackie November 22, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

      Ah, good thoughts. Thanks.

  2. Sue January 30, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    do you know the maker of these ankle boots. Black and White no longer has them

    • Jackie January 31, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Hi Sue –

      They sell all of their shoes under their own name so I’m not sure if there’s another way to buy them. I did a quick search on shopstyle.com and zappos.com though and there are lots of other cute options out there. I thought this pair was pretty similar to the ones shown above –

      http://www.zappos.com/report-britt-black

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

