Gift Wrapping

4 Dec

I love wrapping presents. And I also love re-using things that are already in my house and reducing the amount of waste that goes into wrapping presents. A bit of an oxymoron perhaps but I try to do what I can. And so, with the holiday gift giving season rapidly approaching I thought I’d share a few of my recent gift wrapping makeovers.

This one started with one of those plain orange mailing envelopes (the small size). I used a 12×12 piece of scrapbook to wrap around the envelope and taped at the back. There was actually a thin strip of orange where the paper didn’t meet up which was OK since I choose a paper that coordinated. I cut the paper at the top and created a hole for the original fastener so I could use that as intended. A few circle stickers for the addresses on the front and it was ready to go in the mail!

This next one was for a wedding shower gift. Crate and Barrel does such a nice job of packaging things up that I figured I should let them just go ahead and do the hard part. All I had to do was add the prettiness on top.

Finally, this last one is for a baby shower gift. The shower and baby’s room are both jungle themed so I had to get the cute little jungle sign when I saw it. The bag started its life at Banana Republic. I untied the handles to attach the sign on the inside (so it would hang nicely) and then made a bunch of green circles to cover the Banana Republic logos on the front and back. Super easy, except for the fact that I am not very good at cutting out circles. I tried to get a circle cutter on a recent Hobby Lobby trip but couldn’t find what I was looking for and ended up with only a stencil instead. I think I’m going to have to try somewhere else if I’m making any more circles in the future…

5 Responses to “Gift Wrapping”

  1. thegiftedblog December 4, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    I found your post by browsing WordPress’ tagged items feature. These are so cute! Is there a story behind the red flowers on the Crate and Barrel box?

    I always feel like I’ve found a kindred soul when I find someone who posts pictures of their wrapped gifts, too. I’m glad you shared!

    Charissa

    • Jackie December 8, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks! I found the little felt flowers in the clearance section at Paper Source and decided they’d be an easy way to dress up the plain box. I hot glued the buttons on so they stayed in place but then just used double sided tape to stick them on.

      Most people think it’s funny I liked to spend time wrapping gifts so it’s nice to know I’m not alone! =)

  2. tiffany January 18, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    for some reason i clicked DIY on your little cloudy thingy and stopped on this post because sometimes i do feel inspired to prettily wrap things (even to the point where i own a cute stamp, avidly use my heart hole-punch + yarn as ribbon, and upcycle ‘scrap’book paper as tags), but that’s as far as i go. that crate and barrel box with the spatula and flowers looks mighty familiar…i don’t think i noticed it before…

    • pleasantandhome January 18, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      Definitely your gift. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More (Baby) Gift Wrapping « pleasant and home - April 18, 2010

    […] of shopping bags which Elaine and Pete have both pointed out is not necessarily normal – but I use them for things!) so at least I have plenty of those. I found a cute yellow shoe box for this gift and used […]

Leave a Reply

