Happy 2010!

3 Jan

I’ve never really been one to make New Year’s resolutions. I’m not one of those people who is disciplined enough to follow through on something just because they decided one day to do it. (Based on the statistics about the number of people who actually stick to their resolutions though, neither are a lot of other people. So at least I don’t have to feel too bad about this.) Instead, I used to make resolutions throughout the year when I was really ready to make a change. It seems even that has fallen by the wayside these past few years as life, and all of the responsibilities that come with it, keep moving forward at full speed.

I’m still not ready to turn them into specific resolutions but I have come up with a few goals for 2010. I’d like to make progress towards a slower, simpler, more organized and, therefore, more meaningful life. When you’re hurrying from one big moment to the next you risk missing out on those beautiful little ones that aren’t screaming for your attention. I also need to slow down so I can spend more time reflecting on what it is I really want to be doing. I’ve never been good at that question about where you see yourself in 5 or 10 years but after more than 6 years in my profession I think it’s about time I start to come up with some answers to that.

I also have a new motto for 2010, courtesy of Scarlett Johannson in a Glamour interview, of all unlikely sources –

[Y]ou have to give yourself a reality check and go, All right, if I feel this way, I’m going to do something about it that’s healthy.

She was talking about it in terms of body image but I think it can easily be applied to all areas of life. And though the concept itself is not earth shattering, the emphasis on the “healthy” part is important and often overlooked.

Finally, I promise not to start talking about numbers all of the time, but to those who may be making resolutions related to their finances, I recently heard about learnvest.com and their financial bootcamp. Starting tomorrow, they’ll be sending daily emails with tips and activities on how to better manage your finances in 2010. Seems like an interesting site and I’m looking forward to what they have to say.

So here’s to 2010 and the many happy moments it will bring!

3 Responses to “Happy 2010!”

  1. Kristy January 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I should have you be a guest speaker at my Goal Setting Series that I’m doing in Plymouth. Good stuff, friend.

    • Jackie January 23, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      That’s awesome you’re doing that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year, New Desktop Calendar, Old Goals « pleasant and home - January 2, 2011

    […] and how did I do on my 2010 goals, you may wonder? Pretty miserably, if I do say so myself. However, I made a gigantic step forward […]

Leave a Reply

