A few of my favorite things – Part I

5 Jan

I know the holidays are over but I wanted to do a few quick posts on my favorite things for Christmas 2010. The day we decorated our tree we treated ourselves to cinnamon rolls and cranberry-pomegranate mimosas garnished with a cinnamon stick and frozen cranberries – yum!

Pete and I have a ton of ornaments as we both seem to come from families where they are regularly given each Christmas. Here are a few of my favorites (though for my all-time favorite go here) –

And here are the reasons why (clockwise from top left in case the letters aren’t visible) –

a. It’s just super cute. And you don’t need an ornament hook (I don’t know why but I hate those). 2006 was our second Christmas together and we were looking forward to our wedding the upcoming year. This ornament makes me warm and smiley.

b. This one is Pete’s and it just cracks me up.

c. Again, super cute and again, no ornament hook. I think there’s a theme. I might need to look into buying clothespins and making these next year though, that’s how much I love it!

d. This one makes me laugh every time I take it out of the box because I can’t believe it hasn’t fallen apart yet. I’m not sure how old I was when I made it but it must be at least 20 years old. Also, I love that I was very thorough coloring both sides of the snowman. My grandma taught me at a very young age to always pay attention to those details and properly finish your work.

e. Isn’t hope one of those things the holiday season is supposed to be all about? It is for me.

f. I’m not exactly sure where this guy came from but I have a feeling it was one my mom, grandma, and aunts made one year (they used to make ornaments every year!). What I do know is that he has also been around for as long as I can remember.

g. Just another nice message. And I love all the scrolls.

And now, one of Pete’s favorite things –

I didn’t do much to change-up my other decorations much this year but you can see what I was up to last year herehere, and here.

One Response to “A few of my favorite things – Part I”

  1. Pete January 6, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Mmmm . . . Christmas Ale. I wish I could have one right now.

Leave a Reply

