A few of my favorite things – Part II

6 Jan

Given the number of weddings we’ve been to in the past few years, it is no surprise that we welcomed a lot of new babies in 2010. I wanted to do something for them without the holiday spending getting way out of control so Pete and I decided to start a tradition of giving them each an ornament every year. I searched on Etsy but, knowing I needed a minimum of 5 (and ideally more!), I couldn’t find anything that I liked and fit the budget. I did, however, see quite a few things that inspired me to create my own. They’re not nearly as perfect as the other ones but they were made with lots of love!

I really thought I had taken an in-progress picture but, if I did, I can’t seem to find it (side note – as I’m taking more pictures I REALLY need to work on my organizational system – yikes!). I googled dove templates and decided on this one because I didn’t want any wings. I was going to try and use felt but fabric stores actually really overwhelm me since I don’t know how to sew. When I walked in to the store I found 2 yards of white fleece that was already wrapped up and bundled to go for somewhere around $5 or $8 so I figured it was a sign to just take it and go. I traced my template onto the fleece and was able to cut both sides at once. The cutting was actually probably the hardest part though so definitely make sure you have good scissors if you try it!

I wrote the babies names and the year on pieces of ribbon and hot glued them to either side of each ornament. I used the same ribbon to make the loop for hanging and hot glued that onto the inside of one of the pieces of fleece. Then I just hand-stitched the pieces together and add a little stuffing. Since I had the materials, I ended up making close to 20 of these so I could share not just with the babies but with other friends and family members as well. Now let’s just hope they hold up!

 

2 Responses to “A few of my favorite things – Part II”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 30 Before 30 « pleasant and home - January 17, 2011

    […] Make ornaments for all the kids.(Check!) […]

  2. DIY Ornaments – 2011 « pleasant and home - December 20, 2011

    […] some inspiration from Pinterest, I continued the tradition of making a new holiday ornament this year. This year, Tiffany decided she’d come over and […]

Leave a Reply

