My 30 Before 30

17 Jan

OK! I’ve already tackled some of these but edited a few others out since my birthday in October. I’m finally ready to share.

I wanted to make sure the list had things that were defined and could be crossed off in a relatively short amount of time – so no long-term or abstract things like “blog more”, even if I should also do those.

I made sure some things were just for fun though so it wasn’t just another to-do list – as much as I love a good to-do list, they’re generally made up of chores.

At the same time, there are a lot of things that need to get done and, even though I want to do them, I need a little kick – ahem, numbers 13 and 14 in particular.

Finally, there are a handful of items that line up with the life I want to lead – hooray for being able to take time off to go skiing and learning more about the food I eat.

So, without further ado, my 30 before 30.

  1. Take another photography class. (Check!)
  2. Start using Flickr to post AND get feedback on photos. (Check!)
  3. Enter at least one photo “contest.” (Check!)
  4. Set up photo-shoots with at least 3 friends or family members. (Check!)
  5. Set up a photo-shoot with someone who doesn’t fit into item 4. (Check!)
  6. Visit the modern wing of the Art Museum. (Late, but Check!)
  7. Visit the Frank Lloyd Wright home and studio.
  8. Learn how to apply liquid eyeliner. (Check!)
  9. Learn to make paella. And sangria while I’m at it. (Check!)
  10. Re-paint the second bedroom. (In Progress and Late, but Check!)
  11. Re-paint (or replace) the kitchen cabinets. (Thinking about it, the project begins, and late, but check!)
  12. Replace bedroom carpet. (Late, but Check!)
  13. Finish photo album from senior year of college.
  14. Make honeymoon photo album.
  15. Organize things saved from our travels.
  16. Organize boxes of photos. (Check!)
  17. Go to Jazzin at the Shed. (Check!)
  18. Make Lauren holiday shoe clips.(Check!)
  19. Make ornaments for all the kids.(Check!)
  20. Plan Friday Night Holiday Lights.(Check!)
  21. Organize all of my magazine cut-outs. (Check!)
  22. Read Food, Inc or another food-oriented book. (Check!)
  23. Make a ham. I should probably do this before number 22. (Check!)
  24. Visit Sonoma. (Check!)
  25. Go on a one-month shopping hiatus. (Check!)
  26. Go skiing in Colorado. (Check!)
  27. Make a list of books to read. (Check – visit me on Goodreads!)
  28. Go to a movie with Pete. We’ve only ever been to one together. This is my fault. (Late – we went to see The Vow on 2/11/12 – but Check!)
  29. Try a Pilates class.
  30. Make pasta sauce from scratch. All the way down to the tomatoes scratch. (Check!)

No going back and editing now, except to cross them off as I finish! Wish me luck!

14 Responses to “My 30 Before 30”

  1. tiffany January 18, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    i think this is a very good list!

  2. Beth January 18, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Glad I can help with #24 :) woohoo!

    • pleasantandhome January 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Haha. I’m glad too! That one’s sort of a gimme but I really have been waiting for years to go! =)

  3. Lauren January 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Excellent list, Jacs!! I would personally really recommend not reading Food, Inc. unless you’re ready to seriously have altered food habits… Eric and Erica read it and I think Eric is wasting away now b/c he can’t eat anything… How about Kitchen Confidential? It’s about the restauranting business…but it’s at least about food. =) Or Table Talk? Just some ideas.
    For #23, use some cloves. mmmmmm.
    I want to do #17 and #24 with you! I do NOT want to do #25 with you though. :)

    • pleasantandhome January 19, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      I’d like to be ready. Though I clearly still gave myself an out….

      Heidi picked her favorites she wants to do with me but she skipped 25 too. Haha. I’m trying to find the right month to pick. Maybe February actually. I’ll make sure it’s not March or May or any other time I might be seeing you. =)

  4. Elaine Ellis January 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I love these! #26 is my favorite.

    • pleasantandhome January 19, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      Because Colorado is obviously the best state ever!

  5. Charise January 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I have a delicious sangria recipe if you’re looking for one ;)
    http://breadandcheeseplease.blogspot.com/2009/06/spanish-tapas-night-sangria.html

    I recommend The Omnivore’s Dilemma as a book to help you learn where your food comes from and decide how you want to shop/eat. Great read, will probably have you change some habits, but not quite as in-your-face as Food Inc. Plus it focuses more on eating local, unprocessed, organic vs just being anti-fast food/industrial ag,

    • pleasantandhome January 23, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      Awesome! Thanks, Charise!!

  6. Ashley Dumm March 23, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    What a great list! I will offer up my kids for a photo shoot to help you cross off #4 and would love to go to the FLW home with you sometime (#7). Despite living in OP for several years now I still haven’t visited it! Xo.

  7. His Mrs. Her Mr. July 28, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    What a great idea! I’m sure it is so much fun to complete (and check off) items on your list. And yes, I think it might be a good idea to make the ham before you watch Food, Inc. Otherwise you won’t want the ham, at least not for awhile…

    • pleasantandhome July 28, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Thanks! It has been fun. It’s nice to keep the milestone birthday in perspective and know that I’m doing the things I love and continuing to take steps forward in life. I think I’ll actually start making a shorter version each year from here on out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snow (Mountain Style) « pleasant and home - February 28, 2011

    […] Here’s one more crossed off my 30 Before 30! […]

  2. 30 Before 30: Items 4, 5, and 16 « pleasant and home - May 18, 2011

    […] case you were worried I forgot about my 30 Before 30 list, I figured I should come back and cross some things off. Here we […]

Leave a Reply

