Happy little additions

23 Jan

These two recent additions to our master bathroom are making me very happy:

The greens were pulled out of a Christmas bouquet after all the roses died. This picture was taken last weekend but they’re actually still holding up. We don’t have any windows in the bathroom so it’s nice to have a little bit of life in there.

And the other item? I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner. It’s my new tissue holder.

One thousand times better than the box they came in. You have no idea how long the box of Kleenex has been bothering me. A long time. But the problem went like this –

Me – Pete, we really need to get one of those pretty box covers for our Kleenex. I hate the box.
Pete – Really? OK.
Me – But they only come in the shape of the little square and not the rectangle box.
Pete – Oh. (Pause.) Um, can’t we just buy some with a box you like?
Me – Well, we could, but we already have three boxes and what happens if a) I can’t find one I like or b) I do find one I like but then can never find it again?
Pete – (Waits silently while hoping I will find something else to talk about since he was never bothered by this to begin with.)

We had that actual conversation in several different variations.

Unbeknownst to her, I stole the idea from my mother-in-law after seeing her tissues in a perfect rectangle shaped box. However, it didn’t really occur to me to try something similar (maybe because I’m lacking the perfectly-sized rectangular box?) until I was re-arranging things on my dresser top and the pearly container needed a new home. Oh my gosh, I love it.

3 Responses to “Happy little additions”

  1. Pete January 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Haha. Yes, we did have that conversation on many occasions!

  2. Tiffany January 25, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    And it works? 15 tissues don’t gloop out when you grab one? This is a cute fix! I too, hate ugly tissue boxes and since we always buy in bulk, half are always ugly. Why can’t they just make all the boxes pretty?!

    • pleasantandhome January 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Yup! It works!

      As a side note, you left my 100th comment. Thanks. :)

Leave a Reply

