Snow (Mountain Style)

28 Feb

A few weeks ago, we traded the Chicago snow for Colorado snow. I realized while I was there that it had been 5 years since I was on skis! So sad since it’s something I actually really like to do. However, my work schedules have not historically been very conducive to ski vacations.

I love going to Denver because we have family and friends there. Half the time I don’t even have to think or plan much in advance because the most important thing is really just spending time with them. So, thanks to my brother- and sister-in-law for hosting us in your adorable new place. And another huge thank you to Elaine and Vikas for making the drive up to the mountains to spend time with us even though you weren’t skiing. You’re all the best!

We were actually only in Colorado for an extended weekend. We spent two of those days in Beaver Creek and couldn’t have had better weather or better skiing.

 

The bad news – I ended our first day on a mountain with no way down except through moguls, which I do not do.  I knew I could make it down in the slow and steady kind of way – and I did – but I have never been so physically exhausted in my whole life. To make matters worse, my ankles quickly became more swollen than I’ve ever seen them in my life. Ouch. I decided maybe another day of skiing was not in my best interest.

The good news – Before you feel too sorry for me, I spent the next day sitting outside the Park Hyatt at the bottom of the mountain with my Starbucks and a book. The sun was out and I was legitimately worried I’d get sunburn since I was sitting there in only a light sweater with my sleeves rolled up. Amazing. This sort of thing is not an option in February in Chicago.

Here’s one more crossed off my 30 Before 30!

One Response to “Snow (Mountain Style)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 30 Before 30 « pleasant and home - February 28, 2011

    […] Go skiing in Colorado. (Check!) […]

Leave a Reply

