Pretty Colored Doilies

5 Mar

I decided to experiment last weekend with some pastel colored doilies a la Martha Stewart and I’m totally in love. These are all small 4-inch doilies that I plan on using as gift tags. However, I have another project in mind so I purchased these and you may be seeing more soon!

Does anyone have a favorite color? I thought mine might be the purple since the pink looked more red when they first came out. However, now I can’t decide between any of them!

3 Responses to “Pretty Colored Doilies”

  1. Kate Suffern May 25, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    did you use coated doilies or uncoated doilies? for the pink, i’m assuming you used red food coloring?

    • pleasantandhome May 25, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      Hi Kate – I believe they’re all uncoated. The ones pictured in this post were just from the baking section at Michael’s. I used these – http://www.geographics.com/Medallion-Lace-Paper-Doilies-Royal-Lace/c208_231_324/p905/p/product_info.html – in a later post and don’t see anything on the website that mentions coating. They certainly didn’t have any kind of coating that I noticed!

      And yes, the water dilutes the colors quite a bit so the pink ones were just red food coloring.

      Hope that helps!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beth and Steve’s Shower Invites « pleasant and home - May 8, 2011

    […] realized I might be able to incorporate that idea where the mums are on the printable invite. I experimented with the dying process to make sure I could get the colors right and decided it was a […]

Leave a Reply

