Sweet P, Apple of my eye

24 Apr

So on Saturday morning (when the rain had stopped, the sun had come out, and the temperature rose) I realized I forgot to include Apple in my Friday happy list. She’s cute, fat, and round. She was less than $4. And I love her.

What I wasn’t loving so much as I took that picture, however, was our concrete balcony. It’s really just not that pretty when you start to look at it. So, I began to wonder if I could paint it since that’s usually the first thing I do when I don’t like something in our house.

Fast forward a few hours and we were nearing the check-out at Ikea when we spotted these snap in place decking pieces. Hmmmm. It seemed like fate. The only problem was, we had no measurements so weren’t sure if they would fit. The pieces are one square foot each so we knew we needed more than one deep and hoped it was at least two. We guessed that it wasn’t more than 9 feet wide. So away we walked with two packages for a total of $70 and our fingers crossed. This is what return policies are for, right?

Pete woke up this morning and (while declaring that he’s like Jesus the carpenter since it’s Easter) installed it all in under an hour. The measurements were actually perfect. I mean, what are the chances? This kind of serendipity is not common in our home improvement adventures but I will take it! Just look how happy Apple is on her new perch.

Thanks, Sweet P, for deciding it was a good idea and getting it all done so quickly! Let’s hope this means there’s a season full of happy home improvements to come. My fingers are crossed since a kitchen remodel is still on our list. =)

2 Responses to “Sweet P, Apple of my eye”

  1. Keeping it Real In Chicago June 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Apple looks so sweet and happy on her new perch indeed! What a great look for the balcony…love it!

  2. pleasantandhome June 6, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Yes! We’ll have you over soon to see it in person, hopefully! :)

Leave a Reply

