Beth & Steve’s Shower – Invites

8 May

Finally, the long-awaited shower invitations! I still love them. Though, I will say, they’re much prettier when I don’t have to block out the details. Sorry, internet friends. But I will at least skip to the end result since you’ve waited so long. :)

My original inspiration was a lace/doily rectangle invitation I saw at Paper Source (no longer available online). I knew I wanted to make something though so I pondered how I might be able to use a real doily and get my invite details onto the center. After realizing I’d still have to mount it onto card stock and, more importantly, that the scale of the doilies wasn’t quite right, I knew I needed a new plan.

I was also drawn to the Mums printable invite when I was originally shopping at Paper Source. The similarity to the colors I used is actually somewhat a coincidence (they’re actually inspired by a fabric I’ll be using at the shower!) but I liked the overall layout. I remembered Martha Stewart’s Dyed-Doily Gift Wrap tutorial and realized I might be able to incorporate that idea where the mums are on the printable invite. I experimented with the dying process to make sure I could get the colors right and decided it was a go!

The invitations are made of the following products:

  • Paper Source A9 Notecards in Soft White
  • Paper Source A9 Envelopes in Peacock (a little too dark to use at the shower but it provided a nice contrast for the invite only)
  • 8″ White Medallion Lace Paper Doilies dyed blue/green (about 4:1 blue to green – see more instructions in link above)
  • Wrapping paper from the Dollar Tree for the envelope liner (score!)

The night before assembly, I dyed all of the doilies so they’d be dry by the next day. In my test batch I noticed that the color didn’t always dry evenly so I patted these with a paper towel as I laid them out on the table to make sure there wasn’t any excess dyed water. Given the delicate nature of the medallion doilies, I tore almost all of them as I removed them from the water. However, they’re hardly noticeable and were always easily fixed when glueing them to the card stock.

The invites themselves were drafted in Microsoft Word and printed on my home computer. Jackie Blonde helped me with the actual assembly. We cut each doily in half and used a glue stick to apply them onto the card stock. Any excess at the edges was trimmed with an X-acto knife. We (Jackie!) traced the envelope liners onto the wrapping paper using the Paper Source Envelope Line Template for the A9 envelope, cut out, and glued to each envelope. Perhaps the easiest parts to explain but most time-consuming to carry out. Thanks, Jax, for all your help!

So, what do you think? Anyone else with any DIY invites in the works? I don’t know if I’ll make any more since I don’t think I can top these. Have I mentioned yet that I LOVE them?

7 Responses to “Beth & Steve’s Shower – Invites”

  1. Lauren May 15, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    love, love, love, love, LOVE them. :) great job!

    and you’re going to have a great time at the shower! i can’t wait to see the posts from those decorations.

    • pleasantandhome May 17, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to show you everything else!

  2. Liz May 18, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Wait a second, you MADE those?! Wow! I am amazed and impressed. They’re beautiful! Beth & Steve are very lucky!

    • pleasantandhome May 18, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      Haha. Thanks, Liz! The first part of your comment made me laugh out loud.

  3. Beth and Steve May 19, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    We LOVE them! So pretty and the perfect color combo. Not sure if our wedding invites will be up to this caliber, but we’re going to try. You are the best Jacs!

  4. Jessica October 6, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Someone had pinned your invite and I was so excited when I found it because I am doing a doilie themed first birthday for my baby girl next month and simply could not find any designs I liked. I love this and can’t wait to try it!

  5. pleasantandhome October 6, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Hi Jessica! Your comment made my day! Your theme sounds so cute and I’m glad to have offered some inspiration. Happy (almost) birthday to your daughter!

Leave a Reply

