30 Before 30: Items 4, 5, and 16

18 May

In case you were worried I forgot about my 30 Before 30 list, I figured I should come back and cross some things off. Here we go!

4. Set up photo-shoots with at least 3 friends or family members.

My friends are super helpful and I’ve done more than 3 photo-shoots with them. This item on my list gets an “Exceeding Expectations.” Yes!

Let’s do a highlight from each one even though picking favorites is always hard. Luckily, I can cheat  on some of these since other favorites are already on the Photo Sessions page and, since this is my blog, I can do whatever I’d like.

This one wasn’t so much a “photo-shoot” as “thanks for asking me to be your bridesmaid and letting me carry my camera around all day”. But I had to post. Isn’t she stunning?

And now all the cute babies and babies to be. My friends, in my obviously-not-biased-at-all opinion, have the cutest babies ever.

This last one wasn’t exactly a photo-shoot either. Just what happens when you let me baby-sit. =)

So there you go. Number 4 crossed off the list! But that doesn’t mean I won’t do more! Practice is always appreciated. I can see with each one where I’m getting better and where I still need to improve so thanks again everyone!

5. Set up a photo-shoot with someone who doesn’t fit into item 4.

Definitely making progress in this area as well! The one that lets me cross it off the list was a shoot I did for my friend’s mom’s church. In addition to their worship services, they have Sunday morning child, teen, and adult ministry classes and so were interested in candids to document everything for their archives and bulletins. I was a little nervous going into this since it was so much different from the other work I’ve done. But, the interesting thing was, it felt like the good kind of nervous. I was excited for the challenge and hopeful my client would be happy with the results. I learned a lot from this shoot from you-better-know-how-to-meter-with-spotlights to what it means to be the one walking around with the camera while everyone gives you funny looks.

The good news? I was totally comfortable in the role, even if tired after a long morning. (Side note: I’m now even more impressed with wedding photographers who shoot all day long!) The best news? My client was very happy! Whew.

Given the nature of the work and how many people were photographed that day, I didn’t ask for permission to post their images so won’t do so here. But I will say, my favorite images were not surprisingly from the children’s classes. Cute kids dressed in Sunday best? Love.

16. Organize boxes of photos.

Nothing much to report here other than a) I forgot this was on the list but b) Pete and I did it a few weekends ago anyway in a flurry of trying to organize things. Freed up two whole boxes by clearing out doubles that we don’t need to keep. And we got to laugh a bit at ourselves and our friends along the way. I am so happy I graduated college before digital cameras were so popular. I actually got my first digital camera for my college graduation. Here’s to being old!

2 Responses to “30 Before 30: Items 4, 5, and 16”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 30 Before 30 « pleasant and home - May 18, 2011

    […] Set up photo-shoots with at least 3 friends or family members. (Check!) […]

  2. Happy Birthday, My Pete – Part I (Just Desserts) « pleasant and home - June 6, 2011

    […] because my creative attention lately has been focused on Beth and Steve’s shower, photography, and Tiffany’s present. Not so much creative time left for Pete’s birthday. But he […]

Leave a Reply

