Happy Birthday, My Tiffany!

31 May

Sunday was my dear friend Tiffany’s birthday. And not just any birthday, her 30th birthday. This means we’ve been friends for a very long time. More than half our lives, as I pointed out in her card. The funny thing is, we actually owe our friendship to a personality test and a bit of fate. Our sophomore year of high school, we were placed together as roommates at what I refer to as a sort-of-boarding school. I mean, we lived there so it sounds like a boarding school but it’s definitely not your typical east-coast boarding school with a tuition that rivals an ivy league college. The words math and science were right in the title of the school’s name. So, yeah. Let’s just say we’re a little nerdy. This tidbit of information will explain some things later on. Note that while I went into math, Tiff went into science.

But back to sophomore year. I was boy-crazy and wearing midriff tops (thank God those are no longer in style.) Tiffany was a tom-boy wearing oversized Jenko’s (let’s also thank God that phase is over.) We’d stay up too late doing anything we could to avoid our homework – mostly talking on the phone or sneaking over to our friends’ room next door. We made happy birthday signs for each other on dot-matrix printers with the paper with the perforated edges. At least I’m guessing that part was sophomore year. Here’s where Tiffany could probably tell you the details far better than I can. I often have to call or email her for clarification on these kinds of things.

The real point is, that’s the year we started to grow up together. When the year was over, we decided to live together the next year. And then the next. College took us to different cities and there were probably times when we went far too long without talking to one another. But she’s always been one of those friends who I could pick back up with wherever we left off. Our pictures in our senior yearbook are in two columns right next to one another. We split the following Aristotle quote between the two: “What is a friend? A single soul dwelling in two bodies.”

For my birthday last year she gave me a very cute card picturing the legs and roller skates of two girls. The one on the right is much trendier; wearing rolled up jeans, white leg warmers, and blue and yellow skates.  The one on the left is very girly; wearing short shorts, rainbow-colored striped leg warmers, and pink and white skates. As soon as I opened it I said, ooooooh, that’s like you on the right and me on the left. The first thing she wrote inside the card was that she liked it because she could picture us as the two girls. We both laughed.

Tiffany and I don’t always exchange gifts anymore but I felt like a 30th birthday should be celebrated. Plus, I know how much she likes all the heart shadow boxes that are out there on Etsy and Pinterest these days. I figured I could make one. Some of them have rows or grids of hearts though which I had to veto because I knew I’d just drive myself crazy trying to make them straight. So I settled on a single heart with multiple layers. I went to a local thrift store to find a book to use but knew the words on the top heart would need to be meaningful in some way (or in a foreign language!) since you’d be able to read them. I wasn’t having much luck but then I came across this guide, which made me laugh out loud.

Even though I don’t know anything about chemistry (it was my worst grade in college), Tiffany loves it so I thought it was perfect. Plus, it had lots of pages with pretty illustrations of all the molecules. I cut out my hearts and hot glued them together to try to create the space between each layer. As I’ve mentioned before on my blog, me and adhesives do not always get along very well but this seemed to work OK.

To finish up I just had to hot-glue my heart layers onto cardstock and pop it back in the frame. Here it is sitting on my shelf. I’m not sure what this says about my sense of humor, but it still makes me laugh every time I see it.

The good news is, Tiffany seemed as entertained by the nerdiness as I was. She even told me that benzene (one of the molecules on the front heart) is pretty. I think she tried to explain, but I still don’t really know what that means. I just liked the composition.

7 Responses to “Happy Birthday, My Tiffany!”

  1. Lauren June 2, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    That was a really sweet posting. :)

  2. Mom June 2, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I truly enjoyed reading this! It makes me love the 2 of you even more. I’ve always sensed that Tiffany provided you with balance and vice versa–know I know it’s true. Your gift is adorable!

  3. Charise June 14, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Aww, what a great personalized gift!

    I always just tell people I went to “a nerd school where we happened to live on campus”.

    • pleasantandhome June 16, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Haha. Yup. That description works as well!

  4. tiffany June 29, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    oh man, i just realized that i never commented on this post! i love love love my gift, it is perfect. i have it on my desk at work [for now] and people ask me about it all the time. and i always point out that benzene is my fave ;)
    thanks, jackie! i was trying to let 30 slip on by, but this really helped to make it a little more bearable =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday, My Pete – Part I (Just Desserts) « pleasant and home - June 6, 2011

    […] Comments « Happy Birthday, My Tiffany! […]

  2. Home is where the heart is « pleasant and home - August 27, 2011

    […] kept things simple with this project. I mean, really simple. (If you liked Tiffany’s birthday present but want to try an easier project first, this would be the way to go!) Black IKEA frame, map of […]

Leave a Reply

