Wedding Traditions

1 Aug

It’s hard to believe, but later this week Pete and I will be celebrating our fourth wedding anniversary. Four years! How did that happen? There’s much truth in the old saying that time flies when you’re having fun. Although I skipped last year (because, let’s be honest, I skipped a lot of things last year), I figured I’d bring back a series of wedding-related posts in celebration. If you missed the first series, you can catch up here, here, here, and here!

I’ll start the week with my take on the bouquet toss. I’m all for traditions but I am just not personally a fan of this one. I think I was scarred by being dragged onto the dance floor at one too many weddings. One time I was even personally sought out by the bride when she realized I was trying to avoid it. (For the record, I went when it got to that point. It was her day after all.) And all for what? To go after a bouquet of flowers so I could be the next person to get married. First of all, I’m not an aggressive person so fighting off a bunch of other girls is really not my idea of a good time. Second, I never really had a problem with the fact that I was single and was definitely in no rush to get married. It really just didn’t seem necessary to declare my single status in front of a whole room of people. Oh, and don’t even get me started on the whole garter thing. I just find that all incredibly awkward and I’ll leave it at that.

Now, I know I’m kind of a downer on this one and I don’t mean to be such a party pooper. If you love it you should do it at your wedding. (Especially since now I won’t have to participate – yes!!) But, clearly, with thinking like that, there was no way it was going to happen at my wedding. Personal issues aside, my other main objection was that what I wanted for our reception was a dance party. The whole day goes by so fast and I wanted things as simple as possible with limited interruptions. Even if the whole bouquet toss ordeal only took 20 minutes, it still would have cleared people off the dance floor and been 20 minutes less of what I had envisioned.

I wasn’t necessarily planning on replacing the tradition with something else but one day I was perusing through Martha Stewart wedding ideas and came across the Turkish shoe signing tradition. I’m not Turkish, nor is my husband, but this seemed like a lower key way of getting my girlfriends involved in some wedding day fun. The tradition is to have each of your single girlfriends sign the sole of your shoe and the name that has faded the most at the end of the night is the one who will be married next.

via Martha Stewart Weddings

So, who was it, you may ask? I honestly don’t remember. The problem was, I didn’t realize there was a film on the bottom of my shoes that everyone was actually signing on. At the end of the night, it was all peeled up and clearly needed to be removed. Oops. So, should you choose to try this, make sure to check for that first. :)

3 Responses to “Wedding Traditions”

  1. Krishann August 1, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    How exciting! I’m with you on the bouquet and garter toss. We also opted not to do either of those. I love the shoe idea though. Simple, sweet, and doesn’t put anyone on the spot! Not to mention catching the bouquet can be a little dangerous. Some people are very serious about making sure they are the ones to get it. Wasn’t trying to go out like that :-/
    Congratulations on your upcoming wedding anniversary!

    • pleasantandhome August 2, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      Exactly! Haha. And thanks. :)

  2. Charise August 3, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Eh, we skipped the bouquet/garter toss, too. I always hated having to go up for it, think it’s a bit tacky, and didn’t want to delay the dance party any longer!

Leave a Reply

