My Veil

3 Aug

Since my last post was about something so out of character, I figured I’d follow it up with something a little less surprising. Since I didn’t buy my dress in a bridal shop, I didn’t have a chance to buy a veil during the dress process. I looked at a few while out bridesmaid dress shopping though so I quickly gathered that they can be pretty expensive. With a bit of research, I found an online retailer that seemed reasonably priced. After looking through my options though I realized that all I wanted was a single layer cathedral length no trim simple as can be veil. For example, see here (and, actually, I thought I remembered the veil being closer to $100…maybe it is once you add it shipping?)

Naturally, my next thought was that I should still be able to make what I wanted for considerably less. In case you’ve forgotten, let me remind you that I don’t actually know how to sew.

A quick google search confirmed that it should be easy and was worth at least giving it a try. I went to the local fabric store and picked up the tulle and a hair comb for less than $10. Yes! By my estimation, there are about a million different shades of white, off-white, cream, ivory and whatever else you may wish to call it so I highly recommend bringing a swatch of your dress fabric so you’re sure to get a complimentary shade. Next, I just followed instructions close to these but my instructions didn’t include (or I just skipped…) number 4. Still, it was pretty easy to complete. The hardest part was cutting the tulle. They recommend a rotary cutter if you have one though which would probably make a big difference.

In the end, here’s what it looked like! Not so bad, if you ask me.

We’re leaving for vacation soon and going out to dinner to celebrate tomorrow so that’s it for this year. Happy anniversary, Pete!

4 Responses to “My Veil”

  1. tiffany August 12, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    i really loved this series of posts! good memories =)

    • pleasantandhome August 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      It’s funny to think back now to all of the planning and decisions and projects and everything else that went into it. :)

  2. Krishann August 25, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Beautiful! Not bad at all :)

    • pleasantandhome August 26, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

