At Home In: Big Sur, CA

21 Aug

We’re back from our vacation and seriously could not have had a better, more relaxing, or more fun time. We made stops in three different cities on our week and a half long trip through northern California and honestly loved it all. This was the first time in a few years that we’ve taken a longer (more than 5 nights) trip like this and I really need to remember to do it more. I know it can be difficult (and expensive) to go away for that long but I tend to really need it. Last year when we were in Cabo San Lucas I started getting sad two days in because our trip was almost over. Horrible outlook, I know, but it’s how my brain works these days.

Our first stop this year was Big Sur, CA. We stayed for three nights in a Little Sur Cabin at Glen Oaks. After getting our keys from the main hotel area located right on Hwy 1, we were given a map and driving directions to get to our cabin. Awesome. This was our front gate.

We drove down the drive and found our little cabin waiting for us. The trees and the light that shines through them are amazing. I only wish the photographs could capture the way they smell. I have a pretty funny relationship with nature. On the one hand, I love it. However, that doesn’t always mean I want to be too close to it. Bugs and sleeping on the ground aren’t really my thing. But I am all for this kind of camping.

The inside is cute, compact, and efficient. They did a really good job maximizing such a small space. We had a surprising amount of storage space for our things and there was even a little kitchenette with a sink, fridge, microwave, dishes, and (very important) wine opener. There were also yoga mats inside the wardrobe which I thought was adorable even if I didn’t quite get around to using one.

Their website has plenty of great photos of the inside of the cabin that are better than mine so check that out if you’re interested. But I can’t pass up the bathroom. Do you see the floor below? It’s heated. Amazing. Heated floors are on my dream home wish-list and this just secured their place. It even helped me convince Pete that heated floors wouldn’t be too hot. Yes! One day we’ll have them.

Each cabin has its own fire pit which they  stock with wood and fire starters (again, my kind of camping.) It was our spot for morning coffee and evening drinks.

Here’s the fire pit at one of the other cabins and some more of those beautiful trees.

I was really impressed by the landscaping done by Glen Oaks. They managed to keep it woodsy yet also really pretty at the same time. Every time I saw this guy I thought it looked like a happy little pirate tree. See it? He only has one eye but he’s still smiling.

For another fun view of the cabin you can check out our 360 Panorama here. And, in case all of that wasn’t pretty enough, here’s a view from nearby Hwy 1. Who wouldn’t want to see this with just a few minutes drive?

2 Responses to “At Home In: Big Sur, CA”

  1. Krishann August 22, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Looks like you had an amazing trip! The pictures are beautiful! I haven’t been on a long trip since I was a kid (week long trips at my aunt and uncles houses) and love the idea of having a longer vacation and visiting a few places. Fun! And more fun! :)
    p.s. I get how you feel about being sad partway through your trip because it’s almost over. It’s not quite the same but I always get sad Sunday afternoon – Monday’s almost here :(

  2. pleasantandhome August 26, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    We went on a trip to Ireland a few years ago and did something similiar along the west coast there. Since we enjoyed it so much we figured we’d try again on our west coast! The key for us is to stay long enough in each place so that it still stays relaxing. I like to rest! :)

    And yes, also totally with you on the Sunday thing! At one point when I was really stressed by work, I would have the hardest time sleeping on Sunday nights because I was so anxious. Not helpful!!

Leave a Reply

