A Birthday Secret

1 Sep

In case you don’t already know her (what?! how do you not know her?!), let me introduce Emily Henderson. HGTV Design Star winner and the stylist behind Secrets from a Stylist (SFAS), aka my current favorite show on HGTV. That’s saying a lot considering it means she’s beating out House Hunters, Curb Appeal, and more. Divine Design used to my be favorite but I liked the old format better, especially since it seems a little like Candice is trying to steal Emily’s styling concept. I am nothing if not loyal to my friends. Or “friends” as it may be since Emily doesn’t know we’re friends. Stalker? No, I promise not. A bit of girl crush, as Pete suggested? Most definitely. It’s sort of hard not to have one. First of all, she’s incredibly talented and works hard. Seriously, I only dream of being able to style and layer (both clothes and rooms) the way she does. Second of all, she seems like the nicest person on earth. And the result of that winning combination is that she earned her way to her dream job – her own show on HGTV. I think that’s both awesome and admirable.

But, you may be wondering, what is the point of this whole post? Well, today is Emily’s birthday and her Online Media Manager, Lana, and her husband Joey(also of Make a House a Home), pulled together a birthday surprise for her. Go check out the video on Emily’s blog.

Yup, I said video. Let me remind you, I barely let myself be photographed. Being on video feels like awkwardness times a million (also, I realize now I could have said something, I thought I wasn’t supposed to – oops!) But I did it. Mostly because I decided earlier this year that this is my “Year of Yes.” Normally, I’d make up a million reasons not to participate but, when Krishann (of His Mrs. Her Mr. who is also super nice, has the sweetest family, and has a side table I’m pining over) sent me the e-mail about the birthday secret, I thought “yes.” And I’m really glad I did. Turns out some things you’re scared/hesitant/embarrassed by really aren’t so bad.

So, with all that, one more Happy Birthday, Emily! I wish you continued success and happiness. And everyone else, you should try saying “Yes.”

3 Responses to “A Birthday Secret”

  1. Krishann September 1, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    You’re the sweetest! I’m glad we both decided to be brave and do it! Not so bad at all (nor are our poster making skills:) ….

  2. tiffany September 8, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    good job! your sign was cute =)

  3. pleasantandhome September 11, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Thanks girls! =)

Leave a Reply

