At Home In: Sonoma, CA

12 Sep

I’m a little out of order here as I try to catch/keep up with life but, as I mentioned in my post about Big Sur, we actually made three different stops during our trip to California. Our longest stay was in Sonoma (another one crossed off my 30 Before 30 list, for those keeping track!) for Beth and Steve’s wedding (I posted about their Chicago wedding shower invites here and the actual shower starting here.)

Let me start this post by declaring my love for Sonoma. It’s actually pretty mind-boggling that I hadn’t made a trip out there before. It has sun, wine, beautiful scenery, and good food. Some of my favorite things all in one place. I love Sonoma so much, in fact, that it’s now at the top of my list of places I would like to move to. Visions of my outdoor dinner parties (year-round!) are already forming in my head. It’s going to be great.

Since we don’t have our own home there yet, for this part of the trip, we rented a little pool house we found on VRBO. It was cute and compact and just perfect for what we needed.

The property sits on a cliff overlooking Sonoma. Can you imagine waking up every day to this view if you lived in the main house? I could definitely get used to that.

The owner of the house has two dogs that were given free access to roam the property. This meant that Bear (below) could often be found swimming in the pool or lounging around beside it afterwards. We don’t have any pets of our own so it was kind of nice to wake up to such a sweet lab outside the door every day (the other dog, Beau, didn’t quite warm up to us for some reason.)

And because a post about Sonoma wouldn’t be complete without some grape vines, how about this view from Gloria Ferrar?

We stayed with friends in San Francisco and although their place is stunning (seriously some of the prettiest tiles I’ve ever seen in my life) I wasn’t quite sure how they’d feel about paparazzi taking random photos of their home so I never did. Plus they have a new baby girl and I got pretty distracted holding her (so distracted in fact, I don’t even have a picture of her – that’s definitely a first!) So, no posts from there. Maybe I’ll post a few more wedding/travel photos from the trip though if I have some time….

2 Responses to “At Home In: Sonoma, CA”

  1. Kris & Chris {His Mrs. Her Mr.} September 14, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Yes please share more photos they are all so pretty! And the pup is too cute :)

    • pleasantandhome September 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll see what I can do about getting more pics up. The wedding was soooo pretty and my friend made so many of the things herself. Hopefully soon!

Leave a Reply

