30 Before 30: Final update….before 30

17 Oct

One last update on my 30 Before 30 list before my birthday! You’ll (unfortunately) be hearing more of this list once I am 30 as I work to complete the ones that won’t be checked off by tomorrow. These are the items that are in progress or completed in a way that I’m checking it off even if not done quite as originally listed. You’ll see what I mean.

Item 10 (In Progress): Re-paint the second bedroom.

We are so close on this one. So close. It took a few different trips to the paint store but the winning color is one of the ones in the picture below!

Now we just need to set a date to paint.

Item 11 (In Progress): Re-paint (or replace) the kitchen cabinets.

This one’s a hard one. I really want to just redo the whole thing. I can actually see in my head what it would like and it’s great. The problem is, if things go well (i.e. we could sell our condo…or at least get it rented…) we won’t be here too much longer. And so it becomes a matter of how much we should invest vs. what we’ll be able to get in return. We had our real estate agent stop by to check things out and collectively decided to proceed by getting estimates for the renovation. Once we have those, we’ll be able to take them into consideration with her advice regarding what we could list/sell with and and without the updates. Still not sure where this one is going to land!

Item 25 (Completed…but not quite as outlined): Go on a one-month shopping hiatus.

I’m definitely taking some liberties with this one but hear me out. I knew this would be hard. The real point of it, though, was to get me to be more thoughtful about my spending. I don’t tend to spend or shop extravagantly, necessarily, but its one of those things where the little stuff somehow just always adds up. I wanted to get that under control. There wasn’t any one calendar month where I stopped shopping completely. I actually bet if I looked there would have been 30 days in a row, however, where I didn’t shop. But that’s not where I’m trying to get the credit either. More importantly, earlier this year, Pete and I implemented (though have been slacking on the last few months…) monthly household meetings to discuss our expenses for the previous month, set a budget for the next month, and discuss any big expenditures that we might be considering. We’ve always had a budget (I am an accountant, after all) but we’ve rarely had to stick to it (a luxury that I was always grateful for…I know that is not the case for many people.) Our situation changed when I took my current job though and, hence, the need to be more thoughtful if we’d also like to keep working towards our longer term savings goals. Creating a set time to discuss things kept both of us (mostly me…) more accountable to actually making it work instead of justifying things when we might have gone over our original spending plan. So I’m going to cross this one off since the goal was accomplished, even if by slightly different means.

So, what’s left?

6. Visit the modern wing of the Art Museum.

7. Visit the Frank Lloyd Wright home and studio.

12. Replace bedroom carpet. (This will be next up after the second bedroom gets re-painted.)

13. Finish photo album from senior year of college. (I swear this will eventually be done if it kills me!)

14. Make honeymoon photo album.

15. Organize things saved from our travels. (OK, in my defense, these last three items were all meant to be last winter projects since I usually hibernate during winter. But then I was busy so it didn’t happen! I swear I will get to them this winter…)

28. Go to a movie with Pete. We’ve only ever been to one together. This is my fault. (We do have a Groupon though so hopefully this will be done soon. :))

29. Try a Pilates class. (Funny thing is, my gym used to have a class but must have recently discontinued it. That’s what I get for procrastinating! I’ll figure something out though.)

 

So, eight things left plus the two things in progress. Wah wah wah. That’s not a good completion percentage. But I swear I have not been sitting around doing nothing all year. I swear. In fact, I will have to start crafting a post full of my excuses and all the other things I’ve done instead. We’ll see if I can pull that one together soon…

3 Responses to “30 Before 30: Final update….before 30”

  1. tiffany October 20, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    i think you did a good job!

  2. Kris & Chris October 21, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    This is the last post before the big b-day?!?! I think you accomplished so much and seemed like you had a great time doing it. It has been fun reading about your adventures and perhaps you can spend your 30th list tackling that final 8 (and then blog about it of course)!

  3. Lauren November 20, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    super super impressive! you did a GREAT job on your list – you didn’t make it easy on yourself with all your travelling, job commitments, hosting parties, and HUGE items on the list to begin with… but you still organize and create way more than me and continue to impress me daily. :)

Leave a Reply

