The Year of the Sparkling Buddha

24 Oct

Before each birthday, my friend Lauren likes to declare a theme for the next year. Every couple of years or so, I’m inspired to come up with one of my own. So, a few weeks ago we had an e-mail conversation that went something like this:

J: Hmm. I think I’m going to declare next year The Year of Sparkle.

L: Ooooh. Sparkle and Fun at 31!!!

J: Ummm. I’m only turning 30. And I never said anything about fun. I just want it to be sparkly.

L: Oh yeah. But the only thing that rhymes with 30 is flirty. And boooo. Why not fun?

J: I’m not saying it won’t be fun. But that isn’t the focus. I need to figure a few things out, so it’s more like an internal kind of sparkly.

L: Ooooh. So you’ll be sort of like a Sparkling Buddha.

J: Yes! Exactly!

L: OK. The Year of the Sparkling Buddha.

And then she sent me this image –

{appears to originally be from here}

It still makes me laugh every time I see it. If that guy was for sale I’d probably buy it. Alternatively (and slightly off-topic), I’m seriously considering buying a giant disco ball to randomly display in our home. If I came across one of those I would definitely buy it. But I haven’t started to seek one out just yet. And, in the meantime, I’ll work on being sparkly the way I intended. And try to finish all of my to-do’s from last year…

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “The Year of the Sparkling Buddha”

  1. Krishann October 24, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    How fun that you two come up with a theme for the year!! Even better you incorporated sparkles :)

  2. tiffany October 25, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    i love the conversation you had, i can totally imagine it!

    • pleasantandhome October 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Yeah. That was the cliff notes version, but it went just like that!

  3. Lauren November 20, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    haha i wondered if you just copied and pasted it… the “oooohs” were exact. and i still laughed when i read you being like “but I’m not 31. i’m 30.” me: “oh yeah.” hahaha cracks me up.

    woohoo! i’m a whole blog post essentially!

    also this has now convinced me that my life is a disaster and i must now sign up for email alerts for your blog posts instead of just looking and being happily surprised. sigh.

    • pleasantandhome November 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      Haha. But it was fun waiting for you to see it. I knew you’d be excited that you were a whole post. :)

Leave a Reply

