Shhhhh

19 Nov

Hello, blog friends. It’s been a bit quiet around here lately, no? That must mean one of a few things:

a) I’m up to no good. (You know, like how if you don’t hear kids in the other room they must have gotten into something.)

b) I’m having so much fun that I’m too busy to blog.

c) Life is out of control and I’m just too busy to blog.

In case you’re having a hard time deciding which one it is, what if I told you that I had a major meltdown the other day that involved crying at work (great….), crying in my car, and crying once I got home because I was upset that my clothes were all over the floor. Yeah. That happened. The answer to today’s quiz questions is definitely c.

The blog is usually my happy place, so I apologize for the seriousness today. But I think the crying about the clothes on the floor might just be a new level of crazy. You see, on any given day, my clothes are generally on the floor. A lot of people don’t believe me, but I’m actually quite messy. (It’s just that once I put things away they all have to have a nice, pretty place to go.) But I don’t actually like them there and it was just one more sign things had gotten out of control because I hadn’t picked them up in a while. Also, to back up a bit, I don’t cry very often so crying in general is a sign that things are out of control. Oh, and one more to add to the list, I had a TSA in Ft. Lauderdale (I guess I can’t say I’m not having any fun lately…) ask me last weekend while trying to get home if I knew my driver’s license was expired. Um, no, forgot about that. Swear I took care of it though. And thank you very much for letting me through security because that could have been bad. OMG.

Before you get too worried, I am actually OK. And my life is certainly not that bad. It’s not perfect, but it’s generally pretty great. I’m just so tired right now. So. Very. Tired. As I alluded to in my last post, there are some things I want/need to get figured out this year. Not easy things. They can’t be done right away, but they’re constantly swirling through my head. There are also the “minor” issues of certain things not being entirely in my control (and I like control) and there being multiple possible paths to get to the end goals. So, combine all of that with my busiest time at work and eventually it gets overwhelming. But things should be getting better at work soon. And I’ll just keep working to figure out the bigger, longer term solutions to the things that I need to.

The good news is, despite everything that I might not have right yet, I picked the best husband ever. He is kind, and helpful, and gives the best hugs. So, as always, thank you, Pete.

Oh, and since my Mom keeps reminding me I’m supposed to be sparkly this year, there was at least one sparkly thing. These are my birthday shoes. They left glitter all over the floor under my desk though. Oops!

 

One more side note entirely unrelated to this post – I went to the Modern Wing of the Art Institute today with Tiffany and Heidi so get to cross that off as a belated item on my 30 Before 30 list! The space is quite beautiful but the trip just re-confirmed that I don’t quite get modern art. :)

7 Responses to “Shhhhh”

  1. Krishann November 19, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    First off happy belated birthday. I missed the exact day and I’m sorry. I feel like you may have written it here and I missed it. Fail. Please remind me. I hope your birthday was beautiful. I’m sorry you cried and cried some more. That’s been me too since last night and just like you I’m ok. And while life isn’t perfect it’s not that bad. Even so you’re entitled to a good cry when you need one and fortunately you have a loving supportive husband and your a strong woman (perhaps even stronger than you think). I know somtimes we can be hard on ourselves so I hope you are giving yourself a break and that you don’t lose sight of how special and amazing you are. You bring joy to a lot of lives. Mine included. I am sure you will make the best decisions for you in the end and maybe making them one at a time will help and with some things you may be able to change your mind if it isn’t working which is ok too. I’m here if you ever need me. I know I’m so far but nonetheless I’m here and just like you’re always there to support and encourage me and to cheer me on I’m here to do the same and I mean that. Be good to yourself!

    p.s. Iove your shoes. They are happy happy shoes.

    • pleasantandhome November 19, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words, Kris! Being a bit kinder to myself is amongst the things I’m working on. :)

      Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!!

      • Krishann November 20, 2011 at 11:13 am #

        Glad to here that! My weekend is improving no more tears, although I’m completely open to happy tears :)
        Glad you are working on being better to you!

      • Krishann November 20, 2011 at 11:14 am #

        *hear that (er- read that)

    • pleasantandhome November 20, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Glad your weekend has gotten better!!

      I was thinking last night about what you said about making decisions one at a time. You definitely picked up on a tendency of mine to try and figure everything out all together. While it’s nice when it can work out that way, it’s not always realistic and can lead to this snowball/overwhelming effect. Sometimes one at a time, with adjustments later if needed, is definitely the way to go. Thanks for the reminder. :)

  2. Lauren November 20, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I got the quiz right! 1 of 1 = 100% Gold star for LOB.

  3. tiffany November 29, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    i didn’t understand the modern art either. my favorite parts were the stuff i’d already seen, the free candy, and oddly, the weird movie we saw in the beginning. at least i felt like it was being explained to me…i’m glad you’re on the up and up though, just in time for christmas =)

Leave a Reply

