Christmas already?

18 Dec

I feel like Christmas snuck up on me this year. I’ll place some of the blame on the uncharacteristically warmer (I mean, let’s not go so far as to call it warm because it’s still really cold here) weather and lack of snow. Then there’s the whole issue of working too much (and, more importantly, being very stressed by the work) for too many months in a row. But I swear each year seems to go by faster than the one before.

I didn’t have much time to think about decorating so everything is pretty much the same again this year. Some people like things the same. I tend to get very bored. But let’s also remember that we live in a small condo. Sometimes there’s only so much changing you can do without buying everything new (which is not the kind of change I’m going for.)

I did make one quick swap of the ornaments filling our hurricanes from shades of blue to brightly colored (we already had the colored ones, just on the tree) to go better with the icicle ornaments on the branches. It’s one of those things that seems so obvious I can’t believe it took me a few years to actually do.

I was also on an errand at Lowe’s when I came across disco ball ornaments. Leave it to me to find the girliest, sparkliest thing in the whole home improvement store. Of course I bought them. My guess is they won’t be put away with the rest of the Christmas decorations. ;)

In other uncharacteristic news, I didn’t start Christmas shopping until Friday. Friday. That’s crazy. Luckily, we were able to get a lot done at our local stores (I love where we live and was so happy to support the shops) before heading to the bigger name stores on Saturday. But the last-minute shopping meant I just wanted the presents wrapped and done. The thing is, I know the recipients won’t care. It’s just a bit funny to not be excited about something I usually like to do.

But do you know what? I’ve been spending my time doing a lot of other things I like (photography) or need (cooking) to do. And so, it’s OK. It’s OK to not be able to do everything. I certainly can’t do it all at once. And so, it was nice today, as I put things in gift bags instead of carefully wrapping them, to not be upset by that.

 

Leave a Reply

