DIY Ornaments – 2011

20 Dec

Using some inspiration from Pinterest, I continued the tradition of making a new holiday ornament this year. This year, Tiffany decided she’d come over and make them with me and it’s a good thing she did. More on that later.

First, here’s what the inspiration ornaments looked like:

The pin only links back to the image, no instructions on how to make them, but Tiff and I figured we’d just improvise. A few weeks before our crafting date, I bought a bunch of children’s Christmas books from our local thrift store. A few days before, I purchased the glass ornaments from Michael’s. I already had the glitter and plenty of mod podge/other adhesives so we were all set to go.

In classic DIY fashion, the first one I made took an hour as I tried to figure out to best get the glue and paper to stick. My time dramatically improved with the second one and I finished in a mere 20 minutes. However, with my target of 30 ornaments, that was still way too long. This is where Tiff’s awesome engineering brain came in. She realized that the thinner the paper, the easier it was to apply (because the glue sticks better to the paper with less application and the paper itself is more shape-able to the ornament). And, by that logic, if we used tissue paper it was going to be even easier. Yes! So much better.

As luck would have it, I had a few sheets of Christmas tissue paper at home so I scrapped the cute books and decided to use that instead in the interest of time. I just wish I had known in advance so I could have picked out different paper. But oh well. What I had certainly works.

{P.S. If you’re reading this and your child gets an ornament, feel free to pretend to be surprised. If you’re reading this and your child doesn’t get an ornament, please move to Chicago. I didn’t think the glass would mail well. ;)}

A few other things to note about the process:

  • To glitter the tops, I removed them from the ornament, slathered them in mod podge, and then dunked in a little cup of glitter. This seemed to work well.
  • I tried spraying a clear coat over the ornaments at the end to hold in the glitter. I’m not sure this was very successful though so you may want to skip that step.
  • I wish I had prettier, more consistent hand writing. Sigh.

Also, in case you’re wondering how the paper ones turned out, I really really like them. So much so that this one is staying on my tree!

3 Responses to “DIY Ornaments – 2011”

  1. Nikki December 20, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    These turned out great! I love them!

  2. Charise December 20, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Those are so cute! Gotta love those engineering insights – Ryan lends his to me all the time.

  3. pleasantandhome December 23, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Thanks! Love those engineers is right. Usually I’m good with the logic and making things easier…but the whole paper/glue thing was going to take me a while to come to on my own. Ha! ;)

Leave a Reply

