Homemade peppermint hot chocolate mix

22 Dec

I needed gifts for a few people where I didn’t really know if I needed a gift. You know what I mean? So awkward. As I was trying to decide what to do, I came to a few conclusions:

  • You can never go wrong with food
  • I’ve wanted to make a homemade hot chocolate mix
  • This would be the perfect opportunity to do so
  • Plus it would be a great excuse to wrap something in a pretty jar – yes!

After reading quite a few recipes from all over the internet, I decided to make the hot chocolate mix as follows:

  • 2 cups non-fat dry milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa

When you’re ready to make the hot chocolate, stir 1/4 cup of hot chocolate mix (or to taste) into 8oz of hot water.

I obviously couldn’t give this as a gift without testing it out first and it was quite delicious. I’ve been on a peppermint hot chocolate kick lately so I decided to crush up some candy canes to add in the peppermint flavor. I can not wait to save the $4 per cup I was spending at Starbucks!

To turn it into a gift, I put the hot chocolate mix, crushed candy canes, and some marshmallows into individual sandwich bags and layered everything into a jar. (It would have been prettier without the bags, but not nearly as functional to get to the mix at the bottom if you had to dig through everything else!) Pretty red ribbon and a tag (which came after the picture was taken) and it was all set to go.

If you need any last-minute gifts, this was really easy to make!

4 Responses to “Homemade peppermint hot chocolate mix”

  1. Bridgette December 22, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Adorable!

  2. Nikki December 22, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    So cute! I love how you wrapped it up!

  3. Krishann December 22, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Such a great gift idea! I love just about anything edible in a jar to be honest but homemade hot cocoa?! Oh yes! :) And your presentation is so pretty!!!

  4. pleasantandhome December 23, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Thanks ladies!! This actually may have turned into one of my favorite gifts of the year. Sometimes it really is the simplest things in life. :)

Leave a Reply

