Pizza, pizza, pizza

9 Jan

Way back in November (doesn’t it seem like so long ago!?!) we met our friends’ new baby boy (who is super perfect, by the way.) Not knowing what they needed (he’s their second baby) and taking a cue from Charise (though her choice may have been healthier), I decided (once again) you can’t go wrong with food.

We were going over to their house around lunchtime so I offered to bring something for all of us to eat. I wanted something easy to prep ahead and  just pop in the oven once we got there. Pete and I love making homemade pizzas (though I haven’t ever made my own dough – I should try soon) so I decided to make three pizzas with different toppings on each one. Here are the before images which we just covered in foil to carry over.

Tomato sauce, italian seasoning, sausage, green pepper, and onion

Left: Olive oil, shallots, ham, swiss, and thyme

Right: Olive oil, tomato, mozzarella, salt, pepper, and fresh basil (after cooking)

Yum. Just looking at them is making me think pizza will be on the menu for next week.

Since it wouldn’t be nice to bring food over just to eat it, we also brought over stuffed shells for them to eat or freeze. I didn’t take any photos though and I just follow the recipe on the back of the box of shells. But there’s a specific brand I like (which I only know by sight) and when Pete went to the store they didn’t have it. The directions on the box he got were different than usual so I tried to improvise adding and subtracting where I thought necessary. It ultimately turned out OK but not without some bad doubling the recipe math on my end. And we have a lot of mascarpone in our fridge right that I need to find a use for.

Maybe it will go on next week’s pizza…

4 Responses to “Pizza, pizza, pizza”

  1. Beth January 10, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Those look beautiful and delicious! We are just getting into a homemade pizza phase. Steve’s mom got us some pizza stones for Christmas and a pizza peel (paddle thing). So great! I have heard you can freeze pizza dough so I think I will break out the stand mixer and give homemade dough a shot. I have a wheat pizza dough recipe so I’ll let you know how it goes :)

    • pleasantandhome January 10, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      Ooooh. You guys are fancy style with all your pizza supplies! Definitely let me know how your dough turns out when you make it! This month’s Better Homes and Garden also had two options in this month’s issue so I flagged those too.

  2. Charise January 10, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    We make homemade dough most of the time. We use this one from Giada de Laurentis I found in one of my food mags a few years ago, with more salt (a heaping tsp): http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pizza-Dough-237338

    It’s good for one medium-thick crust (in the oven on the pizza stone) or two thin crusts (which we do for the grill).

    P.S., I usually bring new parents one healthier dish and one straight up cheesy comfort food. ;)

    • pleasantandhome January 12, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks for the recipe! That actually looks pretty easy so maybe I really can do it!

Leave a Reply

