Maple Crunch Muffins

14 Jan

While I was home on winter break, I decided to try a few recipes I don’t normally have time to make. One of them was this tasty treat. I’m not sure nutrition experts would recommend anything with cream cheese for breakfast but, you know what, sometimes you just have to eat things that taste good. Plus, there’s whole wheat flour in them. That has to count for something….

Maple Crunch Muffins (from Better Homes and Garden)

I can’t take any credit for the recipe, I followed it directly from the link above except for doubling the frosting (2 oz of cream cheese is not very much!) I can, however, take credit for the delicious granola I used. That recipe is below. I plan on adding more granola to the muffins next time. I was worried it would overpower the bread but, especially with the smaller grain of the steel-cut oats, I think more crunch would be good.

Homemade granola (adapted from Epicurious)

  • 2 c steel-cut oats
  • ½ c wheat germ
  • ¼ c maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts (it’s what I had, you can also use pecans)
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • ¼ t salt
  • 3 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T water
  • 2 t ground cinnamon
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 275° F.
  2. Spray 9 x 13 pan with cooking spray.
  3. Combine first 6 ingredients in a mixing bowl.
  4. Bring syrup, oil and water, to a simmer in saucepan over low heat. Stir in cinnamon and vanilla.
  5. Stir syrup mixture into dry ingredients.
  6. Pour mixture into pan and squeeze into small clumps.
  7. Bake for 45 minutes.

If I make this to top yogurt, I add about 1/3 cup raisins during the last 15 minutes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

