Perpetual Journal

23 Jan

I know we’re closer to the end of January than the beginning but I still wanted to share a project that I started at the beginning of 2012. Inspired by Design Sponge via Pinterest (yet again) I decided to create a perpetual journal out of index cards. I really love the idea of seeing how things change year by year. Even if I tried to start a real journal to do the same thing I know I’d never keep up with it. This might be odd considering I have a blog but I don’t actually like writing very much. Especially not on paper. It takes too long, my handwriting is too messy, and I like to be able to re-organize my thoughts. Writing something on paper is such a commitment! But this is just one line. Quick and easy as part of my bedtime routine. (Though, if I’m honest, I’m still struggling to get that nailed down…working on it, working on it…)

The dividers for each month are my favorite designs from two old Paper Source letterpress desktop calendars I still had lying around/was hoarding (depending on your perspective.) It made me super happy to find a good use for them. This is exactly why I save things! ;)

Knowing that I have big hand writing and wouldn’t be able to keep my thoughts to half an index card (like the example on Design Sponge), I bought the larger index cards (4×6) and cut them to the size of the calendar pages (5.5 inches.) Least favorite part of the project. Before I take on my next massive cutting project, please remind me to go buy a larger paper trimmer. But it’s done now.

I could have just written the month and date on each one but instead used this as a good excuse to go buy a date stamp. (I feel like my next project should be to create a card catalog and library cards for all of our books. Maybe I will! Just kidding. I think.) And, of course, I couldn’t just let my little journal sit on my bedside table without something pretty to put it in. My first thought was that it would be a good reason to buy one of Anthropologies’ Farmer’s Market Baskets. However, the width was too small (I’ll have to find another reason to buy those….) so I searched Etsy next and found the basket I used from Baskets8899 . Perfect.

 

2 Responses to “Perpetual Journal”

  1. Jessica January 26, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    Love this Jackie! One of my friends does a similar thing and writes a single phrase down in her journal day by day, and looks back at the end of the year. This looks more fun though. :) Can’t wait to try it out sometime!

    • pleasantandhome January 29, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      That’s a cute idea too! Easier way to start if you don’t want to take the time to make something just yet. :)

Leave a Reply

