The BIG project – Kitchen Reno!

6 Feb

I mentioned in my last post that we have a BIG project underway. Well, after years of deliberation, we finally decided to renovate our kitchen! Hooray!!

In full disclosure, when I say *we* are renovating our kitchen I mean we are picking everything out and hiring a contractor to actually do it. As much as my HGTV-watching self would love to tell you we went DIY on this one, it’s just not realistic. We both work, neither of us is skilled in anything related to carpentry, and we don’t live well in chaos. We’ve definitely learned over the past few years that projects + chaos + exhaustion is not so great for the relationship (and we don’t like to fight.) Having everything torn up for weeks will be stressful enough. We really don’t need to layer on physical labor, learning how to do things on the fly, and problem solving when they go wrong. So, I actually think hiring the contractor will be some of the best money we’ve ever spent.

Before we get into the renovation plans, let’s take a look at where the kitchen’s been in the last 6 years so you know what we’re working with. When I tell you our kitchen is small, I mean SMALL. These first photos are from the MLS listing and inspection:

Holy redness. You know how some colors make you feel good and some colors make you feel bad? Just looking at these pictures makes my anxiety level increase about 1000%. Red is just not a color that I should live with.

Luckily, I can barely even remember when it looked like that. Shortly after moving in we painted the walls blue and cabinets white. (The cabinet painting project may or may not have been the first time I learned the relationship lesson above….) After too many years deliberating what our bigger plans were, we finally covered the really dirty and gross peel & stick floor tiles with new ones. Unlike the cabinets, this was a very easy project that didn’t take much time and only cost about $30. I wondered why in the world it took so long (another good lesson in home improvement projects.) After the updates we made, the kitchen finally looked like this:

Much better, don’t you think? Looking at these side by side makes me realize just how far it has come! But there are still some problems, visible and not visible, that we’re going to get to correct with the renovation. More in the next post!

4 Responses to “The BIG project – Kitchen Reno!”

  1. Amber February 6, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Whoa…That kitchen looks about the same size as the one in my studio apartment!!! lol. I can’t wait to see what you do with the place.

    • pleasantandhome February 6, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      Haha. I know. Amazing that we actually cook at home so often, isn’t it?!

  2. Elaine Ellis (@ElaineEllis) February 6, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    I love it so much! Can’t wait to see what you do.

    • pleasantandhome February 7, 2012 at 11:59 am #

      Thanks, Elaine! :)

Leave a Reply

