Farmers’ Market Flowers

19 May

I’m so excited that the Oak Park Farmers’ Market opened for the season today. Not a whole lot in the way of fruits and veggies here in Illinois/Wisconsin just yet (with the exception of asparagus – everyone had that!) but there were lots of fresh cut flowers, plants, and herbs. I’m hoping to do a better job of farmers’ market shopping this year (my menu/list making tendencies make it hard for me to just buy what looks good and then figure out what to do with it) but, in the meantime, I’ll be enjoying all my new flowers.

I hope everyone’s having a lovely weekend!

2 Responses to “Farmers’ Market Flowers”

  1. Charise May 29, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Pretty, pretty flowers!

    I am the same way with my meal planning/list making tendencies. But, knowing what should be in season when helps (check the IL Dept of Ag – they should have a list/chart for ya). I also write vagueness into my list, like, say, “3 vegetables for sides”. That leaves room to grab whatever looks good in addition to the things I want/need for actual recipes.

  2. pleasantandhome June 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Thanks for the tip on finding what’s in season! I’ll definitely have to check that out. I am actually getting better about the vagueness in my lists (so we can just get what looks good even at the grocery store) so hopefully I can incorporate into farmer’s market shopping too!

Leave a Reply

