Pregnancy Journal: The End

9 Dec

It’s hard to believe Claire has already been here for over 7 weeks. I know everyone says it but it’s amazing how quickly the time goes by. I suppose when you’re repeating the same activities so often it really can just blur together. Before I get too far removed from my pregnancy though there is one more thing I wanted to write about. Consider this a PSA for those of you that don’t have babies yet because it goes in the category of “things I totally wasn’t expecting.” And for those of you who know me or have read many posts, you can probably already guess that I really prefer to be prepared for things. Advance warning is always nice. :)

So, here’s the deal. The books, doctors, and your friends will all tell you about Braxton-Hicks contractions. They refer to them as “practice” contractions. Everything I read or heard about them made it sound like something that just happened occasionally towards the end of pregnancy. Oh no. Not for me. I was getting them every day for the last several weeks of my pregnancy. They weren’t painful but they would increase in frequency and/or intensity throughout the day.

Once she was full-term, I didn’t mind them. I figured they meant labor would start any day. But after a couple weeks of that it started to feel like an emotional roller-coaster. I do not like roller-coasters of any variety. Every day I’d wonder if it would finally be the one where the fake contractions would turn into real ones. I’d leave work not sure if I was going to be back the next day and go to bed wondering if they were going to stop or get worse during the night. But every morning I’d wake up, not in labor, and go back to work again. It sort of felt like the boy who cried wolf.

Obviously, they eventually turned into the real thing. And I was pretty excited when they finally did! But now you’ve been warned in case the same thing happens to you. :)

Since I can’t have a post without a picture, and I had promised some maternity shots a while ago, let’s throw those in here too. Pete did a great job, don’t you think? Here I am 33 weeks pregnant.

20120903-9596 20120903-9602 20120903-9600

My very favorites are of my bare belly but I just don’t think the whole internet needs to see that.

5 Responses to “Pregnancy Journal: The End”

  1. Krishann December 9, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    He did a beautiful job!!! You look gorgeous!! You are a beautiful person inside and out. And that sweet baby girl of yours makes my heart melt.

    • pleasantandhome December 14, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks! You’re so sweet! And Claire definitely makes our hearts melt too. :)

  2. laura December 10, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    You look stunning!! …and still do… Mummyhood definitely suits you Jackie. X

    • pleasantandhome December 14, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks, Laura! It’s hard work but definitely my favorite kind!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pregnancy Journal: 35 weeks and {quickly!} counting | pleasant and home - January 5, 2015

    […] then there are those Braxton-Hicks contractions that my body likes to get so early. They started 2 weeks ago and most certainly freaked me out […]

Leave a Reply

