Oatmeal with Apple and Pear Compote

16 Dec

I’m not a big breakfast person. In fact, unless you count coffee as breakfast, I used to skip it all together. Though I’m sure some of my favorite lattes have enough calories to count as breakfast, I think the nutrition experts would find several things wrong with that scenario. So, I have tried to get better and one of the keys to this (since I am not a morning person) is preparing things in advance. During the summer this is often yogurt, granola, and fruit packaged to go so I can eat it at work. In the winter, this gets swapped out for oatmeal. Often plain but sometimes with brown sugar and milk added.

This October, however, I was introduced to oatmeal with a homemade apple walnut compote from one of my favorite cafes. As luck would have it, around the same time I came across a recipe on Pinterest for baked apples in a bag. Now, the idea of microwaving a plastic bag freaks me out a little so I had to change things up a bit.

I started with a big batch of steel-cut oatmeal (which I make according to this recipe, give or take a few things depending on what we have on hand.) For the compote, I chopped up a Honeycrisp apple (I just discovered these this year and I LOVE them) and a pear (because we had one) and threw them into a small saucepan. I added a couple spoonfuls of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoon of water, and some raisins. Then, I just heated everything up until it seemed good and mushy. (This is obviously not a very precise recipe, which causes me a bit of stress quite honestly, but it turned out just fine.)

When it was done, I put the compote on top of my oatmeal and threw on some walnuts. Voila! A healthy, hot breakfast.

Oatmeal

Now if only I had taken the time to toast those walnuts it would have been even better. But my daughter was 5 days old at the time. The fact that I managed to make breakfast, take a picture of it, and eat it while it was still hot is pretty miraculous, if you ask me.

One Response to “Oatmeal with Apple and Pear Compote”

  1. Lauren December 16, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Miraculous, indeed! Great job, Mom-Jacs!

Leave a Reply

